Board Members

ANGIE BARFIELD, M.A

Founding Member / President

Angelia “Angie” Barfield is a wife, mother, mentor, community advocate and most recently named as a Top Ten Professional Woman award winner by the Marjaree Mason Center in the city...

  • Angie@BlackStudentsCU.us

RAMSEY JAY, JR., MBA

Vice President / Member

Mr. Jay earned a Bachelor’s Degree in Business Administration with an emphasis in finance from the Craig School of Business at California State University, Fresno, where he was a five-time...

  • Ramsey@BlackStudentsCU.us

DEBRA WATKINS, M.ED

Founding Member / Interim Secretary

Debra Watkins is a pioneer and trailblazer in the area of Culturally Responsive Practices in the state of California and abroad. Debra studied in France for one year and returned...

  • Debra@BlackStudentsCU.us

TARA HAWTHORNE, M.ED

Member / Treasurer

Tara Hawthorne is currently an employee with Fresno County Sheriff. Tara was recently endorsed by the Sheriff to become a civil committee member of the California State Sheriff’s Association. As...

  • Tara@BlackStudentsCU.us

JACQUELINE McFADDEN

Founding Member

Knowing her steps were ordered (Jer. 29:11), Jacqueline McFadden holds three lifetime teaching credentials, and continues to work with children and young adults today. A retired master teacher of over...

  • Jackie@BlackStudentsCU.us

LISA NICHOLS, M.ED

Member

Lisa is a Vice Principal at Gaston Middle School with Fresno Unified School District (FUSD). She plays an important role in creating a culture in which the needs of students,...

  • Lisa@BlackStudentsCU.us

MARIANNA Y. HARRIS, Ed.D

Member

Dr. Marianna Harris, is a leader in the field of Education. She has over two decades of on- site experience in K-12 schools. Further, Dr. Mari Harris is a recognized...

  • Marianna@BlackStudentsCU.us